EPS expertise in EU studies

Do you know that three academics from EPS partner universities hold either Jean Monnet Chair, Jean Monnet Module, or Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence? Do you know what these appellations mean?

First of all, a Jean Monnet Center of Excellence refers to a center of competence and knowledge on European Union affairs to bring together high-level experts in various disciplines in EU studies. Moreover, the Jean Monnet Centres of Excellence aim to create formal links among academic institutions in other countries and therefore interconnect academic disciplines in European studies. Ivo Šlosarčík (Charles University) and Javier Arregui (Pompeu Fabra University) are EPS professors holding one of Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence! Moreover, Lenka Rovná (Charles University) holds Jean Monnet Chair Ad Personam given to academics who have contributed to the development of the EU studies.

Besides, a Jean Monnet Chair is a prestigious teaching post for university professors with a specialization in the field of EU studies. Among our EPS academics, Tomáš Weiss (Charles University) has obtained Jean Monnet Chair focusing on EU international relations and diplomacy studies and Javier Arregui (Pompeu Fabra University) is a holder of Jean Monnet Chair on EU Governance.

Furthermore, Maxine David (Leiden University) holds Jean Monnet Module „From multidisciplinarity to interdisciplinarity – Europe in the world“. A Jean Monnet Module is a short teaching programme or course per se in EU studies. Goals of the Jean Monnet Module are numerous, e.g. to promote the introduction of an EU perspective on non-EU related studies and introduce courses adjusted on specific EU issues relevant for graduates in their professional life to mention some of them.

Last but not least, we are glad to share with you the launch of the new Barcelona Center for European Studies (BACES) directed by Javier Arregui! The BACES was opened on January 31, 2020, and its principal aim is to provide support for the Pompeu Fabra University’s two Jean Monnet Chairs, led by professors Javier Arregui and Fernando Guirao. Find more information on the UPF website.